Accessing “The Good Stuff” With CICS Explorer in CICS/TS 4.1

When I initially installed CICS/TS 4.1 in our Systems test environment, I started looking for what was new and improved in this version over the 3.2 we had been running. One thing I was looking forward to was seeing the “update” options available in CICS Explorer; in version 3 of CICS/TS, there were many options teasingly grayed out. However, when I loaded CICS Explorer and pointed it at my shiny new CICS/TS 4.1 region, those options were still grayed out!

After doing some web searches, I found information that indicated that to access the update functions, I would need to change the CICS Explorer connection type from CICSPlex SM Data Interface to CICS Management Interface. Of course, nothing is ever that easy …

When I changed the CICS Explorer to use  the CICS Management Interface, I got the following error when I tried to connect:

org.xml.sax.SAXParseException: The element type “HR” must be terminated by the matching end-tag “</HR>”

Boy, it is really clear what this means, isn’t it? Translated into English, this is what it is really saying:

“You tried to access a port with the wrong protocol; make sure you are using a CICSPlex SM Data Interface to access a WUI port, or a CICS Management Interface to access a CMCI port.”

Up to this point, I had never heard of a CMCI port. However, it was fairly trivial to define new WUI parm, CMCIPORT, and point CICS Explorer to that port when using the CICS Management Interface. Once that was done, I magically got all the update options.

IBM has a procedure documented for setting up CMCI in stand-alone (non-CICSPlex) CICS regions so that they, too, can be accessed with CICS Explorer. (Thanks go to Chris Hodgins over at The Master Terminal for that link!)

Follow theCICSguy on twitter here

Leave a Reply

